Run for the Cure

Tomorrow morning my two younger Chicklets and I will be taking part in the CIBC Run for the Cure; a 5K which raises money to find a cure for breast cancer. I know stats state that almost everyone now a days has been touched by a female in their lives who has been affected by breast cancer. Until two years ago my life had never been touched.

That is when I first met a fellow teacher and friend. I had no idea; even when she went off work for surgery soon after I started teaching at the school and when she returned a few short weeks later I had no idea the life altering ordeal she had been going through. You see, this lady is so full of life, and so passionate about teaching and her students that one would never guess that cancer attacked her body.

When she quite “matter of factly” told me, well I was completely blown away. I have, many times borrowed some of her personal strength when facing my stresses and issues in life. I am not pretending that she has not gone through hell and back dealing with breast cancer; nor am I trying to glorify it. Her strength has been a source of support for me. If she can stay so positive in her life how can I allow something so little as my own stresses beat me down?! The answer is I can’t.

Tomorrow I am walking on her team during the 5K and I and everyone else whose lives have been touched by knowing this strong, incredible woman are Blessed.

Thank-you my friend!

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Run for the Cure

  1. Sam says:

    Beautiful! I have had many women in my life both battled breast cancer and (fingers crossed) won and those that have lost the battle. It’s heartbreaking to think that the bonds that are so deep between women can be so easily dismantled by such a horrendous disease. When you know someone that is fighting, it’s hard to know what to say or what to do. You question your “political correctness” of the words that come from your mouth. You pray you are not prying or perhaps showing a lack of concern. Your relationship somehow becomes clouded by this insanity that is breast cancer. What is really needed is a shoulder to cry on and an ear to listen and for the strength of a friendship to resist the temptation of becoming a quiet bystander. Thank you for this! It’s admirable!

  2. Diane says:

    Sheri, you made me cry…..you do what you have to do. I too value your friendship and will for many years to come!♡♥

Leave a Reply

