“Life is what happens when you are busy making plans.”

Ever wonder why it is that things don’t always go the way we envisioned? One of my youth leaders was famous for saying,

“Life is what happens when you are busy making plans.”

I had a plan; finish my undergrad, get married, have children, and stay home and raise my several children. Yeah……after one child in a very toxic, emotionally and verbally abusive marriage, I found myself in my early 30’s separated, jobless, and living in another city. WOW….didn’t see that one coming!

Then I made more plans. New, healthy, loving relationship, teacher’s college, marriage, supply list, and somewhere in between more babies, move off of the supply list into a classroom of my own as a contract teacher; allowing my wife to lower her work schedule and stay home with our Chicklets more. WELL…….much closer this time…..except for the moving off of the supply list part. This is my 6th year as a supply teacher; there just are not jobs to move into! And here is where my planning got stuck.

Funny, though, life didn’t get stuck. It continued and has provided me with a few surprises along the way. Back in Teacher’s College one of our professors  introduced us to the world of blogging. We were required to make post our responses to certain readings and to respond to each other’s posts. After convocation I never really thought about blogging again. Fast forward until last year….when I was introduced to this new “thing” called Pintrest. We won’t talk about the good 3 months of my life I lost to the process of becoming addicted to searching through the seemingly endless world of Pintrest and creating my own boards. What I did very slowly realize was that this whole “blogging” things was not only still around but seemed to represent an entire world that I knew nothing about!

I started to read a few of the blogs that various Pinterest pins directed me to and at some point during the early part of my journey to better health I decided to start my own blog to document my journey. www.fortysomethingandgettinghealthy.blogspot.ca was born! But as I mentioned in a previous post, only friends on Facebook read my posts and since I did not know anyone with a blogger account, I had no followers. The blog sort of just faded into the background of my life. Months later I was approached to write for a fashion blog. REALLY….ME!?!? Ummmmm…ok??  The owners of a local store really liked the way I wrote a letter for them and wanted me to do this for them…..and as simple as that one request, a new passion was born in my life.

This month, I decided to explore the possibility of potential jobs on different blogs or as a freelance writer. I noticed that a lot of ads mentioned something called WordPress.com and I figured I should find out what this was……and as simple as that one thought, my new blog was born.

Now, I  had not planned any of this….not the first blog, or the second blog, or writing for someone else’s blog, or looking for other work as a blogger or freelance writer….but that is exactly what has happened. As of today I am now expanding my blogging to include all things healthy. Whole foods, fitness, eating clean, and raw foods, and anything else dealing with the health and fitness industry. I find this opportunity to be VERY well timed since I just blogged about my first and I thought failed blog. It turns out it was that blog that caught the attention of my new boss and led him to ask if I would like to blog more in the health niche!

So….during the busiest week I have had in a very long time (I am not even home for dinner a single night until Friday!) I am now educating myself and blogging about areas of interest in the health and fitness field. COOL!!

So I think I need to stop making plans…..it seems that life is taking care of itself around me. Not my plans…..my life. I am glad that life has brought me down this road….and can’t wait to see what is around the next turn!

Ciao!

Tagged , ,

5 thoughts on ““Life is what happens when you are busy making plans.”

  1. Jennifer says:

    Amen to everything you said – life never goes as we plan but it sure throws us tons of wonderful surprises that fill in those voids that the “toxins” leave. I’m so glad everything is working out for you!!

    • 2mommiesof3 says:

      Thsnk you! Life is definitely a crazy roller coaster ride……or really more like the Tower of Terror ride at Disney World. ..you never know if the next part is going to toss you up or down!

  2. Danielle says:

    When life gives you lemons make lemonade. It looks like you have done that with your life. You have made the curve balls life has thrown at you and done well for yourself. Very inspiring.

  3. girlychristina says:

    This post was so amazing to read! I love your story as it is very inspiring to me because i also felt like any plans I made always fell through. So, I am now on what I call, the non-plan, plan! =) I love how everything seemed to just fall into place. I am hoping that happens for me one day! =) Thanks for this!

    Christina
    http://lifebeinggirly.com/

Leave a Reply

