From Blogspot to WordPress; The Evolution of My Journey to Better Health

I have a confession…….this is not my first blog. That is right……although I am a WordPress virgin I started my blogging life at Blogspot. That blog never really got off the ground. The title of it is Forty Something and Getting Healthy and it was based on my  lifestyle changes I started last summer. If you would like to view it and follow me there the link is;
                                                                                      www.fortysomethingandgettinghealthy.blogspot.ca

My journey has continued even if my blog posts have not. To be perfectly honest I found it very discouraging to be blogging with no followers. Many of my friends would read the link on my Facebook but I was looking to become part of the blogging community. This led me here to the WordPress community and I am happy to report…….I feel like I have finally found my way home!!

So……..my health journey……..

Let me first say that this is a lifelong journey. If you are hoping to read that I have found the magical secret to becoming healthy after growing up largely (no pun intended) unhealthy I am sorry but I have not. Let me say it right here and now……THERE IS NO MAGIC ANSWER!!!!!!! What there is, is, hard work, dedication to change, resistance to “slipping backwards” and everything else you have read about and been told about, and not wanted or been unable to embrace. Now listen, this is not all bad news!! Bear with me for a minute and I promise I will show you the silver lining in what I just said…..ready? Here we go….

Today I spent a lot of time thinking how to turn around my recent “slump” in my journey to better health. This is the silver lining, my revelation;
                                                                                               The only thing better health is about is LOVE!

I know that at first glance this does not seem logical. Think about it though. Why would a person be willing to work so hard to change their eating habits? What would possess a person to get all sweaty and sore and out of breath by exercising? Why go against what has always come easy in life and embrace change when we all know that most often we resist change as much as cats do? Your first response may be to say; health reasons, to look better, because my doctor said I have to, or any number of other usually regurgitated  answers. But when we think about the motivation behind these answers it all comes down to love. Each and every one of us love ourselves enough to want to be healthier.

I am the first one to admit, just like the majority of women and men out there……..I believe that I don`t have good self esteem. But here`s the thing; we are all wrong! IF we did not love ourselves we would have given up by now! We would not have tried every crazy diet out there. We would have not gone back to the very exercises that we hate to do, and we certainly would not be here reading this post! It is all how we perceive our journey. So, let us put on our “rose-coloured” glasses and re-examine our efforts shall we?

We are tenacious because even though we have not made all positive steps forward and even maybe made a few steps backwards we are here……still doing….still revising our game plan. This proves that we will not give up! Everyone needs help with motivation at certain points in their life journey. This does not make us weak, it makes us resourceful! Everyone needs direction when venturing into new fields of interests or studies. This does not make us dumb, it makes us wise! When we carefully look at our actions along our journey it is obvious that we love ourselves a lot!

The next time you are finding yourself struggling on your journey I encourage you to lock back at this post. Go ahead and repost this on your own blog, book mark it, print it off or whatever’s going to keep this handy for when you need to remind yourself the real reason you are on your life journey; self love.

Thanks for reading and joining me on this part of my life journey!

Tagged , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “From Blogspot to WordPress; The Evolution of My Journey to Better Health

  1. Welcome here. i know how hard it can be to get a following.
    i am only one week old blogger myself and want other bloggers opinion on it.
    Good luck with your blog 🙂

  2. Danielle says:

    Welcome to the wordpress community. I hope you journey is a good one.

Leave a Reply

