Don’t Judge

Don't Judge

This is one of my new mantras in life. I found this on Facebook and have no idea who to give credit to for being the genius who wrote this phrase down for the first time. Every single person we meet has a story. Here in our WordPress community we share parts of our stories with anyone willing to take the time to read our blogs. Now I am very new here but so far I have not once found a judgemental comment left on someone’s post. Why is it that our larger society can’t be based on the same foundation of mutual respect and understanding of people and the lives we lead and the opinions we have?

I am far from naïve in thinking that there are bloggers out there who, once they know what the name of my blog means, do not agree with my life; and that is ok! I respect that! I also respect that I have not had one piece of negative feedback in any of my posts or my “About” page. Isn’t it a shame that the same would not happen if I started a column with the exact same content as my blog but in my local newspaper.

Maybe in time our respectful community here on WordPress will filter out into our larger society…….maybe…..if we remember that everyone is fighting a battle we know nothing about and for that reason alone we always remember to be kind.

What do you think?

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “Don’t Judge

  1. Jennifer says:

    I think that people who take the time to participate in the lives of others are a bit more understanding than those who like to spout opinions on a one-time basis in our local media. I like to listen to the radio after I drop off my daughter to daycare and the comments people call into stations about are just ridiculous – I often debate about subscribing to Sirius at times! Keep ’em coming, your writing is so refreshing!

  2. Danielle says:

    That is a very good phrase to keep in mind. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

