This Canadian Is Never Forgetting 9/11

This Canadian Is Never Forgetting 9/11

There are certain events in history that break down the barriers between races, countries, social economic status, and religious beliefs. September 11, 2001 is one such event. I am not American, I do not personally know anyone who died on 9/11. I am not Muslim or a traditionally devout Christian. I am a daughter, mother, teacher, human being and as, most people in the 90+ countries affected that day, will NEVER forget the events of this particular day. My memories include a bright blue sky, feeling so happy that my then 4 year old daughter was enjoying Junior Kindergarten, enjoying a peaceful moment with a cup of coffee at our trailer. That is where I was when my mother called to ask if I knew what was happening in the States. We did not have a t.v. at the trailer and I did not have the radio on. I was completely stunned. I remember crying without even knowing much of the details. I was over come with emotions; fear, anger, disbelief, bewilderment, fatalism, concern, heartbreak. It was not until later in the afternoon that I saw footage of what had happened in New York, at the Pentagon, and in a barren field in Pennsylvania. It struck me as odd and sad that as a society we needed to see the horrifying images over and over again and STILL found it hard to believe to be truth and not video effects in a t.v. show or movie. I watch while I did my family’s laundry at a local laundry mat and the conversations were quite interesting. Many did not really believe that this was happening. It HAD to be a joke! My heart broke a million times that day for each mother, father, daughter, brother, son, sister, friend ect. who’s lives shattered just like the twin towers of the World Trade Center. The world came together that day. And each year that, as a world, we come together to remember the anniversary I am glad that the focus is on those heroes that we lost that day; both the heroes that tried to help those inside the buildings but every single person who lost their lives that day. Each and every one of them is a hero. The reasons and causes of these events remain as atrocious as they were 12 years ago but we as a collective choose to focus and honour those lost and those affected by the loss of loved ones. Maybe that day we were all re-sensitised to violence after years of de-sensitisation through media. Many I am sure would disagree with me. Either way, we did learn to value and focus on what is important; people not evil.

Today I choose to remember the people not the evil from September 11, 2001. How are you remembering today?

Tagged , ,

4 thoughts on “This Canadian Is Never Forgetting 9/11

  1. donald chang says:

    That was a tough day. I was still media back then working in Sarnia. I was returning from interviewing someone or other for some business story when I heard on the radio that the World Trade Center had been struck by a plane. My first thought was new pilot, pleasure craft, too bad. So funny because every time we hear about a crash now we ask if it was an act of terror.
    Running back to the newsroom and asking my colleagues if they had heard about it and seeing their reactions only punctuated the severity of the situation. In times of crisis, news media can be awesome. We pulled together a morning edition with the latest info and it was on the streets by the afternoon. Sandy was 8 months pregnant at the time and over the next few days I realized we were bringing a new life into a very different world. I chose to stay closer to home after that day to be with my family, to raise them in a safer environment or as safe as I could make it.

    • 2mommiesof3 says:

      Wow! Thanks for sharing that Don. It is a very different world our kids are growing up in but not all negative. There is more awareness and with young people more questioning. I think you made a very selfless decision and our family, for one, is better for that decision. Your family is so genuine, kind, and accepting. We are lucky to know you.

  2. […] This Canadian Is Never Forgetting 9/11. […]

  3. 2mommiesof3 says:

    This summer at Disney World we saw a young lady with a tattoo on her shoulder blade that brought tears to my eyes. It was a shield, police or firefighter I am not sure, with both towers in front of the shield and at the bottom of the shield was the word DADDY. I assume that she lost her father that day and my heart went out to her. She was, maybe, in her 20’s and that broke my heart. What a loving way to show the world your love, pride and memory of your father.

Leave a Reply

